About Lux Homini
Deutsch English

y path to photography hardly differs from other "late appointed" and career changing photographers.
As a teenager I had discovered photography - besides painting and drawing - as a medium to communicate my intellectual world by transforming it into pictures, better than I could have ever done this by words.
I started with black and white photography, developing negatives and prints in my own makeshift photographic laboratory. Studies, profession and starting a family have eclipsed my delight for illustrative creativity for a long time.

ou may call it Midlife-Crisis, maybe rebirth, (personally, I see it as a reevaluation of purpose in life), photography has eventually come back. At first tentative as a hobby, later emerging more intensively and time consuming, and finally it turned into a semiprofessional secondary job. Stress and the bad conscience to neglect family and friends was accompanied by the frustrating feeling to stay below your capabilities due to lack of time.

y decision to give up my well paid and reliable job and to plunge instead into the uncertainity of a life as artist was not made light-hearted. Without the confirmation and support of my family, I would have not dared to follow this new road, I will ever be grateful for that. From my personal perspective it is just consequential to let my artistic disposition eventually flourish after such a long time in mere technically orientated professions.

Über Lux Homini
DeutschEnglish

ein Weg zur Fotografie unterscheidet sich kaum von dem anderer "spät berufenen" bzw. quereinsteigenden Fotografen
Als Jugendlicher habe ich neben dem Zeichnen und Malen die Fotografie als Mittel gefunden meine Gedankenwelt bildlich umzusetzen, besser als ich das in Worten je könnte.
Ich habe mit der Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografie begonnen und Filme und Abzüge im eigenen, behelfsmässigem Fotolabor entwickelt. Studium, Beruf und die Gründung einer Familie haben lange meine Lust am bildlichen Gestalten in den Hintergrund gedrängt.

an mag es Midlife-Crisis nennen, vielleicht auch Rückbesinnung, (ich sehe es als Neubewertung meines Lebensinhaltes), irgendwann kommt das Fotografieren wieder, zuerst zaghaft als Hobby, dann immer intensiver und zeitraubender, und schließlich wird es semi-professionell zum Zweitjob. Zu Stress und dem schlechten Gewissen, Familie und Freunde zu vernachlässigen, gesellt sich das frustrierende Gefühl, seine Möglichkeiten aus Zeitmangel nicht ausschöpfen zu können.

eine Entscheidung, meinen gut bezahlten und sicheren Job aufzugeben und mich stattdessen in die Ungewissheit einer künstlerischen Tätigkeit zu stürzen, ist mir nicht leichtgefallen. Ohne die Bestätigung und den Rückhalt meiner Familie hätte ich den Schritt nicht gewagt, dafür kann ich ihr nicht genug danken. Für mich selbst ist es nur folgerichtig, nach langer Zeit in einer technisch orientierten Berufswelt, auch meiner vernachlässigten künstlerischen Seite Raum zur Entfaltung zu geben.